One Possible Future

I have now been in Belgium for six months. I very nearly have a normal life here now! Hopefully it never gets fully normal, because it seems like that would be a dreadful waste of being-in-Europe. At any rate, I’ve gotten into at least some kind of rhythm of life, trying to incorporate miscellaneous European adventures along the way.

Can you believe it’s nearly September? They say time is relative, and never is this more apparent than when reflecting on the past. Sometimes it seems like just yesterday I was totally psyched about buying tickets in March for this weekend’s Grand Prix, but there’ve been plenty of days and sleepless nights along the way that seemed to take fffoooorrreeeevvvvveeeerrr. The first month here was probably one of the longest months of my life (despite Februrary only having 29 days), yet now it seems so distant. In the last few weeks I have finally again gone mountain biking, cooked some stir-fry for friends, done some table-top gaming, and drove at a track day…Just about all I want out of life, really.

Anyway, with things like this, there’s always the question of whether you’ve made the right decision, and never a concrete answer. At this time last year, I had four distinct possible futures before me. Two were relatively safe: I could stay where I was in Hampton, or I could have taken a job offer in Annapolis. The others offered different levels of adventure (a word which is sometimes just a euphemistic synonym for “uncertainty”): Pursue job opportunities in Belgium or Wales.

This was not your everyday conundrum. I don’t know how often people are presented with four different very compelling diverging roads, but it’s probably…uncommon. I won’t write down all the pros & cons of each, but suffice it to say, I’ve been reviewing them in my head ever since. On account of my aforementioned dreams, this was mostly just a decision between Wales and Belgium. I had considered somewhere in the UK to be my ideal placement for a job in Europe, because I was more familiar with the culture and language. On the other hand, Belgium was a nice, central location from which it would be relatively easy to explore the whole continent. Plus there were more local race tracks. And that offer came first, so here I am…

So in the last six months I’ve been trying to make the most of this decision. I have gone to see seven race events at five different tracks, done two day-hikes in the Ardennes forest, drove my car on two different race tracks, visited London to see my favorite DJ, recently had a lovely day riding my bike from Namur to Dinant (pictured above), and taken nearly 15,000 photos along the way. Doing what I have done was only possible by being in Belgium (perhaps this is obvious). Anything close to it would have been impossible in the US, and at least less convenient from Wales, and there is so much more yet to come. God only knows for sure what might have happened in my other possible futures, but I think the answer to “was this the right decision?” is a confident “probably.”

P.S. For those interested, here are links to some new photos of the events from the last paragraph:
Motorcycle and Sidecar racing at Zolder
Ardennes
“Belgium” album updated with ride to Dinant
WEC 6 Hours of Nurburgring
24 Hours of Spa (Maybe a better race to attend than Le Mans, actually)
6 Heures Moto of Spa

Author: haveracecarwilltravel

Moved from America to Belgium in early 2016 (mostly for the racetracks) and brought my Lotus along for the ride. I also enjoy putting my D7000 to good use.

Leave a Reply

